✪ Christmas on Coronation Street (Coronation Street, Book 1) Author Maggie Sullivan – Ormskirkremovals.co.uk

Christmas on Coronation Street (Coronation Street, Book 1) A Wonderful Christmas Gift Full Of Nostalgia And Charm, Perfect For Fans Of Coronation Street And Readers Who Love Fiction Set In WartimeElsie Grimshaw Lives In One Of The Worst Streets In Weatherfield And Is Desperate To Escape From Life At Home With A Brutal Father And The Drudgery Of Working At The Local Mill Grabbing At The Slim Chances That Come Her Way, Elsie Emerges From The Heartbreak Of First Love And Her Marriage To Bad Boy, Arnold Tanner At Only Sixteen Years Old, If Not Much Older, Then Certainly WiserGoing Under Her Married Name Of Elsie Tanner, She And Arnold Move In To No Coronation Street In As War Breaks Out Her Cheeky Self Confidence Immediately Puts Her At Loggerheads With Local Busy Body Ena Sharples And Annie Walker, Landlady Of The Rovers ReturnAs Christmas Approaches, The Residents Of Coronation Street Must Put Their Petty Squabbles Aside If They Are To Survive The Worst That Hitler S Luftwaffe Can Throw At Them And As The Manchester Blitz Grips Their Home Town Of Weatherfield, The Residents Must Pull Together To Make This A Christmas To Remember For All Of The Right Reasons

  • Paperback
  • 400 pages
  • Christmas on Coronation Street (Coronation Street, Book 1)
  • Maggie Sullivan
  • 22 November 2017
  • 9780008255121

About the Author: Maggie Sullivan

Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the Christmas on Coronation Street (Coronation Street, Book 1) book, this is one of the most wanted Maggie Sullivan author readers around the world.



10 thoughts on “Christmas on Coronation Street (Coronation Street, Book 1)

  1. says:

    I didn t plan to read this book, in fact I didn t even know anything about it, But as I clapped eyes on it during an afternoon shop at Tesco, I knew I needed to read it Being a fan of coronation street, Christmas and wartime themed stories, this was the perfect book The story began in Manchester during the 1930s, it centres around Elsie Grimshaw and her tough start to life for herself and her siblings, her love life and how the 2nd world war affected her family It was heartbreaking in parts but very real An excellent read I can t wait to get my hands on the mother s day one, I would 100% recommend this.

  2. says:

    A heart warming tale of one girl s struggle to escape the slums of Manchester and her bully of a father just before World War II There is a truly authentic feel about this story and you can t help but root for the courageous and resourceful heroine For someone who has never watched the TV programme Coronation Street, this is a fantastic introduction to the characters And for fans of the show, it s a nostalgic look back at the very beginning of this close knit community A book to savour whatever the time of year

  3. says:

    Loved itThe story starts in the year 1937 a young nearly fifteen years old called Elsie Grimshaw living with her large family in back gas street Working two jobs Elsie is a feisty girl that knows what she wants out of life She always admired coronation street weatherfield and as years go on lives there after her marriage this book takes us through two Christmases and into the war years I loved it from start to finish

  4. says:

    I ve never watched Coronation Street but loved this book Perfect pre Christmas read

  5. says:

    A wonderful Christmas read full of nostalgia and charm, perfect for fans of Coronation Street and readers who love Fiction set in Wartime.

  6. says:

    As a fan of Coronation Street I enjoyed reading this, a nice change from the Detective Murder novels that I have been reading lately It also shows my age as I remember these characters Loved the history of the Street at the end, the series was always known for its portrayal of strong working class women, their lives and characters somehow sadly I feel that the TV series has now lost that, especially after the death of Blanche and Deidre, in an effort to keep up with rival soaps.

  7. says:

    This was my Christmas read over the festive period I absolutely loved it I fell in love with the sisters Elsie and Fay Although having a tough upbringing they both manage to get away and live happy lifes.This book is an up and down book at times, plenty of happy, shocking moments but also plenty of the bad including deaths Has you feeling the whole range of emotions I was hooked A real page turner Highly recommend.This story takes you to coronation street and the surrounding streets during the war and Christmas It was lovely to see both Elsie and Fay growing up throughout this book A lovely ending A well deserved five stars from me.

  8. says:

    Quite a sad book, the story of teenage Elsie Grimshaw is in places not an easy read as she lives with an abusive father and eventually marries Arnold Tanner who has similar characteristics to her dad.This well written book is unfortunately mis sold, the majority of events advertised on the cover don t happen until around 80 pages from the end and Christmas only briefly pops up three times during the book I suspect it has been marketed as a such to cater for the Christmas market.A good read nonetheless and worth a look for fans of Corrie or wartime saga novels.

  9. says:

    FabulousI was born in 1961 and grew up watching Coronation Street with my mum I remember Elsie Tanner well and this book gives a great insight into what her life was like as a young girl Sadly my mum died several years ago but she would have loved this book I can t wait to read Mother s Day on Coronation Street and really hope that there will be books to come Fabulous.

  10. says:

    I grew up watching Coronations St my father was from Glasgow , although I have gotten away from watching it this book took me right back to those times I never really knew how popular this show was until my first visit to Glasgow in 1985 and my Uncle and family had to be home to watch it This book is so well written and the story so engrossing I was sad when it ended Its a must read for any fan, it shows the characters in a different light Can not wait to read the next one

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *